Text Size
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6


The Joint Commission is a non governmental agency that certifies U.S. hospitals.  The International branch of the Joint Commission (JCI) certifies hospitals outside the U.S. health system that meet the same standards as a hospital in the U.S.


ISQua, The International Society for Quality in Health Care, is a non-profit, independent organization with members in over 70 countries. ISQua works to provide services to guide health professionals, providers, researchers, agencies, policy makers and consumers, to achieve excellence in healthcare delivery to all people, and to continuously improve the quality and safety of care.


The Trent Accreditation Scheme is a choice for hospitals and clinics who are seeking a hospital accreditation system that is both respected worldwide. Trent offers affordable accreditation based on NHS International Healthcare Accreditation standards for all sizes of healthcare facilities by maximizing patient safety and empowering local ownership.


ISO (International Organization for Standardization) is the worldwide largest developer and publisher of International Standards. ISO is a network of the national standards institutes of 162 countries, one member per country, with a Central Secretariat in Geneva, Switzerland, that coordinates the system. ISO is a non-governmental organization that forms a bridge between the public and private sectors. On the one hand, many of its member institutes are part of the governmental structure of their countries, or are mandated by their government.

For further information on accreditation of local and Global Health Care facilities links and articles on the subject are in the MTM Library